AI search

Otterly.AI alternatives in 2026: when to stay, when to switch, and to what

Otterly.AI is the cheapest way to start tracking AI visibility. Here's when that's enough, and which alternative fits when it isn't.

Magnus WindeløvOct 19, 2026 · 11 min read
Visibility splits by model. Our only mentions this week came from Google AI Overviews
Contents

The short answer: stay on Otterly.AI if you need cheap, simple tracking and will act on it yourself. Switch when you need a diagnosis, a plan, the work drafted, or more engines included.

Otterly.AI is the easiest way to start tracking AI visibility. It starts at $29 a month, includes four AI engines and unlimited team members, and in our own tracking it's the third most visible brand AI names in this category.

That's a strong position. Most teams that leave Otterly don't leave because it's bad. They leave because their question changes from "where do we stand?" to "what do we do about it, and who does it?".

This page shows when Otterly is enough, when it isn't, and which alternative fits which team.

A disclosure first. We're 3RD, one of the options here. We track our own category in 3RD, with 193 buyer questions in five markets, and we're ninth of fourteen in that tracking.

Where we stand against the tools buyers compare us with. Profound leads; we are ninth of fourteen

Where the tools stand in AI answers about our category. Otterly is third. We are ninth.

Updated October 19, 2026. Competitor facts come from each vendor's own website, checked October 18–19, 2026. Sources are listed at the end.

The short answer by team type

Your team

Best fit

Why

Small team, small budget, will act on the data itself

Stay on Otterly.AI

Four engines from $29 a month, unlimited team members

Marketing or content team that wants the work done

3RD

Diagnosis, a ranked plan, and drafts in your brand voice; you check and publish

Analytics-first team with an analyst

Peec AI

Deeper analytics, objections and fact-checking, unlimited users

Several countries on a small plan

3RD or KIME

3RD tracks any market from Pro; KIME includes unlimited countries on every plan

Enterprise with specialists

Profound

Up to 9 engines, SOC 2, SSO and API on Enterprise

SEO team inside Semrush

Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit

AI tracking next to keyword data

Wants many engines included

AthenaHQ

Eleven engines on Starter

What Otterly.AI does well, and when to stay

Here's the honest case for staying:

  • Price. Lite at $29 a month, Standard at $189 and Premium at $489, with 15% off billed annually and Enterprise on request.
  • Four engines included. ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot on every plan.
  • Unlimited team members on every paid plan.
  • Useful extras for the money. GEO URL audits on every plan, API and MCP access from Standard, agent analytics events, and a Data Studio connector on the higher plans. ChatGPT ads tracking is listed on its plans too.

Stay on Otterly.AI if you track a small set of questions, mostly in the four included engines, and someone on your team turns the findings into work without help.

Where teams outgrow Otterly.AI

These are the four reasons we hear most:

  1. The prompt ceiling. Lite tracks 15 prompts. Standard tracks 100 and can add up to 300 more at $99 per 100, after which you move to Premium. Teams that track several products or markets hit the next tier fast.
  2. Engines cost extra. Google AI Mode, Gemini and Claude are paid add-ons on every plan. On Standard that's $59 a month for AI Mode, $59 for Gemini and $109 for Claude. Track all three and Standard goes from $189 to $416 a month.
  3. Recommendations, not a plan. Lite gives three recommendations a week; Standard and up give unlimited recommendations. That's useful. It isn't the same as an explanation of why AI picks a competitor, an order of work toward a goal, or a drafted page.
  4. Markets are unclear. On October 19, 2026, Otterly's pricing page described countries in two ways: "Unlimited Countries & Languages" in one plan listing and "Multi-country support (50+)" in another. Ask Otterly how markets are tracked and reported before you commit.

The real cost of "cheap"

The entry price is the wrong number to compare. What matters is the cost of the setup you'd actually use.

Here's a worked example from Otterly's own pricing page: Standard, with AI Mode, Gemini and Claude added, billed monthly.

Item

Monthly

Standard (100 prompts, 4 engines)

$189

Google AI Mode add-on

$59

Gemini add-on

$59

Claude add-on

$109

Total

$416

That's still competitive. But it's a different number from $29, and it's the number to put next to other tools' plans when you compare.

Why the extra engines matter: different assistants pick different winners. Across 60 brands tracked in 3RD, the most visible competitor was a different brand on different assistants for 37 of them (62%), on the same prompts. Inside one brand, best and worst assistant were a median 16 points apart (83 brands).

Our own account makes the point at small scale. This week, every mention we got came from Google AI Overviews. The other assistants named us zero times.

Visibility splits by model. Our only mentions this week came from Google AI Overviews

Visibility splits by model. Our only mentions this week came from Google AI Overviews.

If Gemini or Claude matters to your buyers, include them in your comparison, at their real price.

How we compared the alternatives

1. What a buyer can check before a sales call. We read each vendor's pricing and product pages on October 18–19, 2026: published price, trial, AI models at entry, markets and how far the tool goes from insight to action.

2. How visible each vendor is in AI answers. That's the ranking above, from our own workspace: 193 buyer questions in nine topics, tracked in Denmark, the UK, Germany, France and Portugal.

193 buyer questions grouped into nine topics, tracked per market

The questions behind our ranking: 193 buyer questions in nine topics, tracked per market.

What we didn't do. We didn't test data accuracy; that needs a controlled test on the same prompts at the same time. And we don't treat AI visibility as a verdict on product quality.

Otterly.AI alternatives compared

Tool

Entry price (monthly)

Free trial

AI models on entry plan

Several markets

Insight to action

Otterly.AI

$29 (15 prompts)

Offered; length not stated on the pricing page

4; AI Mode, Gemini and Claude are paid add-ons

Pricing page says both "Unlimited Countries & Languages" and "50+"

3 recommendations a week on Lite, unlimited from Standard

3RD

€99 (€84 billed annually)

7 days, no card

Up to 2 (up to 4 on Growth, 13 on Enterprise)

Any market from Pro (€299)

Diagnosis, a ranked Playbook, and 3RD Agent drafts the work; you check and publish

Peec AI

€85 (€70 billed annually)

Check peec.ai

3, more as paid add-ons

1 country on Starter, 3 on Pro and Advanced

Prioritized actions; suggested rewrites to your draft

Profound

Custom (Enterprise)

7 days, 50 preset prompts, 1 region, 1 language

3 on the trial, up to 9 on Enterprise

Custom, on Enterprise

Agents draft and publish to your CMS after approval

Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit

$99 per domain, billed annually

7 days (Semrush-wide)

ChatGPT, Google AI, Gemini and Perplexity

Not stated on the pricing page

Site audit issues for AI search; your team acts

Scrunch

$300 ($250 billed annually)

7 days, no card

7 platforms

Not stated on the pricing page

Page audits with fixes; AI-friendly site version (AXP)

AthenaHQ

Free tier; Starter $295

Free tier with 300 credits

11 engines on Starter

Single language on Starter

Content optimization agent

KIME

€99 (Explorer)

7 days

2 on Explorer, 3 on Core

Unlimited countries and languages on every plan

AWX agents execute tasks; you choose which run automatically

Prices exclude VAT and change often. Check each vendor's page before you buy.

One check that matters more than price

Ask every tool whether it separates being mentioned from being recommended.

Across 60 brands and 494,000 checked answers in 3RD, the median brand was mentioned in 19.8% of answers but recommended in 0.2%. That's about one recommendation for every 65 mentions. Fifteen of the 60 brands were never recommended.

A cheap tool that reports only mentions can make a brand look healthy while AI picks its competitor every time. Whatever you choose, make sure you can see both numbers.

Each alternative, on the same template

3RD: for teams that want the work done

  • Best for: marketing, content and brand teams without an AI visibility specialist, in one market or many.
  • What it does well: it explains which of five drivers hold you back (content coverage, content quality, agent readiness, authority and outreach), builds a Playbook toward your goal with tasks ranked by estimated impact, and 3RD Agent drafts the work. Content Agent writes in your brand voice, proofread to native quality per language. You check and publish.
  • Where it falls short: the entry price is higher than Otterly's. No SOC 2 report yet (SAML on Enterprise by agreement). Product visibility in shopping answers is coming soon. Starter covers one market. And AI rarely names us yet.
  • Pricing (as of October 2026): Starter €99/month (€84 billed annually), Pro €299 (€254), Growth €499 (€424). 7-day trial, no card.

Here's the step most cheap tools leave to you. We asked 3RD Agent what to fix first on our own account:

We asked 3RD Agent what to fix first. Its answer: build the pages that answer buyer questions. This article is one of them

We asked 3RD Agent what to fix first. It said: build the pages that answer buyer questions. This page is one of them.

Peec AI: for analytics-first teams

  • Best for: teams with an analyst who will turn data into a plan.
  • What it does well: deep analytics including brand perception, recurring objections and fact-checking; prioritized actions; suggested rewrites; unlimited users. Second most visible brand in our tracking.
  • Where it falls short: someone still turns the list into work. Multi-country starts on Pro, and every prompt runs on every model in the plan.
  • Pricing (as of October 2026): €85, €205 and €425 a month (€70, €180, €360 billed annually).

Peec AI alternatives →

Profound: for enterprise teams with specialists

  • Best for: enterprises with specialists and a strict security review.
  • What it does well: the most visible brand in our tracking; up to nine engines, agents that publish after approval, Ads Studio, SOC 2, SSO and API on Enterprise.
  • Where it falls short: custom pricing only; the trial is one region and one language with preset prompts.
  • Pricing (as of October 2026): custom; 7-day trial.

Profound alternatives →

Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit: for SEO teams in Semrush

  • Best for: SEO teams who own AI visibility and live in Semrush.
  • What it does well: 25 prompts across ChatGPT, Google AI, Gemini and Perplexity next to keyword data, with a visibility score, share of voice, sentiment and an AI search site audit.
  • Where it falls short: reports issues; your team acts. Markets not stated on the pricing page.
  • Pricing (as of October 2026): $99 a month per domain, billed annually.

AthenaHQ: for many engines in one plan

  • Best for: teams that want breadth of engines over markets.
  • What it does well: eleven engines on Starter, including Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral, with a content optimization agent.
  • Where it falls short: single language on Starter.
  • Pricing (as of October 2026): free tier; Starter $295 a month.

Scrunch and KIME

  • Scrunch suits enterprise brands that want an AI-friendly version of their site for agents (from $300 a month, 7-day trial).
  • KIME suits teams that want agents to run tasks automatically and need unlimited countries on every plan (Explorer €99, Core €399).

How to decide

If this is true

Choose

Because

You track under ~15–100 questions in the four included engines and act yourself

Stay on Otterly.AI

It's enough, and it's the lowest bill

You need Gemini, AI Mode and Claude too

Price Otterly with add-ons, then compare

The real cost can be $400+ a month

You need to know why AI picks a competitor and what to do first

3RD

Diagnosis and a ranked plan are included on every plan

You lack time, not data

3RD

3RD Agent drafts the work

You have an analyst and want depth

Peec AI

Strongest analytics at a similar entry price

You sell in many countries on a small budget

KIME or 3RD

Unlimited countries (KIME) or any market from Pro (3RD)

How to test before you switch

  1. Keep Otterly running and load the same 20–30 buyer questions, competitors and market into the alternative.
  2. Give it two weeks, not two days. Across 111 brands in 3RD, the median brand's visibility moved 12.5 points between its best and worst day in a month, with no change to its prompts. Small prompt sets, like a 15-prompt plan, swing about twice as much.
  3. Compare per engine and check mentioned versus recommended.
  4. Ask each tool what to do first, then do it. Time how long it takes and who does it.
  5. Decide on your bottleneck: price, data or time.

Moving from Otterly.AI to 3RD

Export your prompts, map them to the 3RD CSV template (prompt, country, language, topic, category, tags) and import up to 10,000 prompts per file. In 3RD, a prompt counts once per model and market, so put more of your prompts on the assistant your buyers use most. Set up audiences after the import.

About the data

The ranking and per-model chart come from 3RD's own workspace, tracking 193 buyer questions about AI visibility tools in five markets (week to October 19, 2026). Customer findings come from aggregated, anonymised 3RD data from September 19 to October 18, 2026: model disagreement from 60 brands, mentioned versus recommended from 60 brands and 494,000 answers, and daily variance from 111 brands and 732,000 answers. The sample leans Nordic. No brand, domain or prompt is named, and these are observational data.

FAQ

What is the best Otterly.AI alternative? For teams that want the work done, 3RD. For analytics depth with an analyst, Peec AI. For enterprises with specialists, Profound. If price is the main criterion and you act yourself, staying on Otterly is reasonable.

How much does Otterly.AI really cost? From $29 a month for 15 prompts on Lite. Standard is $189 for 100 prompts. Adding Google AI Mode, Gemini and Claude to Standard brings it to about $416 a month, per Otterly's pricing page on October 19, 2026.

Does Otterly.AI include Gemini and Claude? No. Its four included engines are ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot. Gemini, Google AI Mode and Claude are paid add-ons on every plan.

Is there a cheap AI visibility tool that also tells us what to do? 3RD starts at €99 a month and includes the diagnosis and ranked tasks on every plan, and 3RD Agent drafts the work. Peec AI gives a prioritized list of actions from €85. Otterly gives recommendations, three a week on Lite.

Can we move our prompts from Otterly to 3RD? Yes. Export them, map them to the 3RD CSV template and import up to 10,000 prompts per file.

Sources

Checked October 18–19, 2026. We update this page when a product changes.

See all 3RD comparisons →

Magnus Windeløv

Head of Marketing

Start this week

See whether AI can find your brand.

3RD checks how ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews, and Copilot describe your brand, and gives you the plan to fix it.

Keep reading